Here are your candidates for the 2024 AMS Elections

AMS Elections season has arrived, and students are competing for five executive positions, two Board of Governors seats and five seats on the UBC Vancouver Senate.

Here are the candidates.


Alexandra Smith

Brandyn Marx

Shaun "The Bulldozer" You

Christian 'CK' Kyle

VP academic and university affairs

Drédyn Fontana

Taushifa Shaikh

VP administration

Jai Sodhi

Kevin Heieis

Amy Liao

VP external

Jake Sawatzky

Ayesha Irfan

VP finance

Mohkam Singh Malik (ਮੋਹਕਮ)

Gavin Fung-Quon

Board of Governors

Eshana Bhangu

Kamil Kanji

Jasper Lorien

Ferdinand Rother

Siddharth Rout

Leonard Wang

Enav Zusman

Student senator-at-large

Alex Chui

Kareem Hassib

Kamil Kanji

Jasper Lorien

Sahib Malik

Kyle Rogers

Ferdinand Rother

Taushifa Shaikh

Solomon Yi-Kieran

Student Legal Fund Society

STUDENTS FIRST (Bardia Mohammadizadeh, Mohkam Singh Malik, Daisy Osberg, Lucas Sun, Vasilii Zhuravskii, Savanah Agas)

Justice in ACTion (Ash Dennis, Jacky Xue, Devon Mark, Maidha Bhatti, Nicole Yeung, Samantha Graham)

Ferdinand Rother           

Peter Mate        

Alirod Ameri-Heydari

This article was updated on February 19 at 4:08 p.m. to include Sultana Razia as a Senate candidate and to remove Tim Vong from the VP External race.

This article was updated on February 22 at 11:36 a.m. to remove Simrat Binning from the Senate and Board of Governors races.

This article was updated on February 27 at 9:18 a.m. to remove Simrat Binning from the VP academic and university affairs race and Sultana Razia and Joshua Hart from the Seante race.

The campaign period begins on February 26 and runs until March 8. Voting opens on March 1. Results will be announced on March 8.

The Ubyssey will host three in-person debates on February 26, February 27 and February 29.

Follow us at @UbysseyNews on X (formerly Twitter) and follow our election coverage starting February 27. This article is part of our 2024 AMS Elections coverage.