The Ubyssey takes home three national journalism awards

This year, The Ubyssey was nominated for seven John H. MacDonald awards, which celebrate excellent Canadian student journalism.

We picked up three, thanks to an in-depth investigation of the UBC Okanagan student union by Emma Partridge and David Nixon; a shot of AMS president-elect Alan Ehrenholz’s introductory beer shower; and some stellar social media from the entire Ubyssey team.

Investigative journalism (winner)

Conflict in Kelowna by Emma Partridge and David Nixon

Cover of the year (winner)

“Not a Cairn in the World” by Jack Hauen

Jack Hauen

Social media of the year (winner)

The Ubyssey by the editorial board

Diversity reporting (finalist)

Bare Minimum: How students with disabilities navigate UBC by Sophie Sutcliffe

Graphic/Illustration of the year (finalist)

​Whales by Yuko Fedrau

Another piece for @ubyssey , this time an article about whales in captivity 🐋

A post shared by Yuko Fedrau (@yukofedrau) on

Student journalist of the year (finalist)

Sophie Sutcliffe

​Website of the year (finalist), designed by Peter Siemens (web developer)